Rhode Island Facts


Rhode Island State House-Providence
Rhode Island State House


Area: 1,214 square miles
Greatest Distances : North to South - 48 miles; East to West - 37 miles
Elevation : Highest - Jerimoth Hill, Foster 812 feet; Lowest - Sea level along Atlantic coast.  
Population : 1,052,567                                                                                                           
Coastline : Over 400 miles
Climate : Average January Temperature: 30°F; Average July Temperature: 72° F
Yearly Precipitation : 44 inches (average)


The Rhode Island legislature, called the General Assembly, is bicameral, with a Senate and a House of Representatives whose members are apportioned on the basis of population. The Senate has 38 members and is presided over by the Senate President who is elected from its membership. The House of Representatives has 75 members and is presided over by the Speaker, who is elected from the membership. Election to both houses is for a term of two years. The term of the Governor and general officers is four years.

Rhode Island has no county government. It is divided into 39 municipalities, each having its own form of local government.

Rhode Island's official name: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations

Learn more about our State Symbols and Emblems, along with even more treasures from the State Archives.


Show More