The Breakers Stable and Carriage House

The Breakers Stable and Carriage House
Coggeshall Avenue
Newport, Rhode Island
Map This Location

Phone: 401-847-1000
Email: Use the online form to contact this property
Visit us on Facebook

Built in 1895 by Richard Morris Hunt, this building houses a collection of historic carriages, livery and other Vanderbilt family memorabilia. The building also houses a detailed model of the New York Central Railroad, which was the source of the family fortune.

No Pets Allowed No Alcohol Allowed
Listing Category: Listing in Travel Guide, Listing on Web
Region: Newport County
Guide Category: Heritage- Mansions & Historic Homes
Parking: Parking available
Restrictions: Alcohol prohibited, No pets, Smoking areas available
Heritage Federal Registry: National Historic Landmark
Heritage Preservation Society ownership: PSNC
Hours of Operation:Operating schedule is seasonal. Please visit website at
Other Seasonality:Seasonal, visit
Contact Name:Dan Fryer
Contact Position:Group Tour Manager
Contact Phone:401-847-1000
Function Space Available:No

Log In to Add this Item to Your TRIP Itinerary

Photo of the Month
Photo of the Month by the Saavy Dachsunds
Free Travel Guide
FREE Travel Guide Discover all Rhode Island has to offer