253 Bellevue Ave.
Newport, Rhode Island
Map This Location

Phone: 401-847-1000
Email: Use the online form to contact this property
Visit us on Facebook

This charming Gothic-revival cottage was built in 1841 by Richard Upjohn as a summer residence for George Noble Jones of Savannah, Georgia, and rebuilt for the King family in 1881 by the legendary firm of McKim, Mead and White. It still possesses original rooms from each era. At the center is one of America's greatest dining rooms, with Tiffany glass blocks and a unique cork ceiling. Its furnishings reflect the King family's success as China Trade merchants, with rare furniture, silver collections and Chinese decorative arts. Open seasonally.

No Smoking Allowed No Pets Allowed No Alcohol Allowed
Listing Category: Listing in Travel Guide, Listing on Web
Region: Newport County
Guide Category: Heritage- Mansions & Historic Homes
Discounts: AAA, Military
Method of Payment: Cash, Debit, Major credit cards, Personal checks, Travelers checks
Parking: Parking available, Parking free
Restrictions: Alcohol prohibited, No pets, Smoke free facility
Heritage Federal Registry: National Historic Landmark
Heritage Preservation Society ownership: PSNC
Heritage Seasonality: Other
Tours Seasonality: Other
Groups - Parking: Free parking
Seasonality:Seasonal Operating schedule, see website.
Other Seasonality:Seasonal, visit
Contact Name:Dan Fryer
Contact Position:Group Tour Manager
Contact Phone:401-847-1000
Function Space Available:No

Log In to Add this Item to Your TRIP Itinerary

Photo of the Month
Photo of the Month by the Saavy Dachsunds
Free Travel Guide
FREE Travel Guide Discover all Rhode Island has to offer